Go to navigation (press enter key)Menu


2017 Editorial Staff

  • Editors-in-Chief
    • Nicholas Barone '19
    • Sofía Benitez '18
  • Editors-at-Large
    • Palak Patel '16
    • Alex Raz '16
    • Catherine Lucey '19
  • Archives
    • Ronald Patkus
    • Aidan Heck '19
    • Hannah Hildebolt '21
  • Arts
    • Mary-Kay Lombino
    • Hallie Ayres '18
    • Phoebe Shalloway '18
  • Digital Media
    • Michael Joyce
    • Lena Redford '18
    • Sixing Xu '18
  • Fiction
    • Sebastian Langdell
    • M Mark
    • Kayla Gonzales '19
    • Christian Prince '18
  • Nonfiction
    • Hua Hsu
    • Nicholas Garrison '19
    • Anika Lanser '18
  • Poetry
    • Molly McGlennen
    • Michaela Coplen '18
    • Gabby Miranda '18
  • Reviews
    • Farisa Khalid '05
    • William Garner '18
    • Rachel Ludwig '19
  • Advisory Board
    • Mark Amodio
    • Andrew Ashton
    • David Means
    • Sophia Siddique Harvey
  • Board of Directors
    • Mark C. Amodio
    • Susan DeKrey
  • Vassar Student Review Liaison
    • Jade Wong-Baxter
  • Design
    • Zach Bokhour
    • A.J. Cincotta-Eichenfield
  • Web Design
    • Jeff Macaluso
    • Megg Brown
  • Founding Editors
    • Alex Raz
    • Palak Patel
  • Printer
    • J.S. McCarthy Printers


The Vassar Review is a revival of the former literary arts magazine published by the faculty and students of Vassar College from 1927 to 1993, and will be released annually.


In each issue, the magazine’s varied content is anchored by a theme. Content is presented both in print and digital formats to accommodate each work.

Each section has two student editors and one faculty editor. Each section has a general body of readers who work with the student co-editors.


Submissions are accepted each fall. Unsolicited work that arrives at any other time will not be considered. Simultaneous submissions are accepted. We consider all artistic and literary forms, including painting, photography, poetry, fiction, nonfiction, scripts, and screenplays, but also forms that often prove difficult to present, such as new media art, spoken-word poetry and performances, hypertext fiction, and others.


A large thanks to our contributors and to the following individuals and bodies for their support and advice in shaping this issue of the Vassar Review:

Marie Ausanio, Joe Bolander, Megg Brown, Jonathan Chenette, Steve Dahnert, Susan DeKrey, Judith Dollenmayer, Julia Fishman, Catharine Bond Hill, Jeffrey Kosmacher, Daniel Lasecki, Amy Laughlin, Alison Mateer, James Mundy, Dana Nalbandian, Thomas Porcello, Elizabeth Randolph, Andrew Raz, Daria Robbins, Dean Rogers, Tracey Sciortino, Ronald Sharp, Bryan Swarthout, Lisa Tessler, Julia VanDevelder, and Margaret Vetare.

The Dean of Faculty’s Office, the English Majors’ Committee, the Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center, the Office of the President, Vassar College Archives & Special Collections Library, Vassar College Communications, Vassar College English Department, and Vassar College Libraries.